Babies will come when they want. Sometimes when we are ready and others when we aren’t. The later is true for us. I wasn’t packed and my husband was away at work still, set to come home the next day. Baby D arrived Wednesday October 15th at 7:54pm. I went to my regular 37 week prenatal visit that morning and had just missed my doctor who had to run out and deliver a baby so I had to wait and see the midwife, who is equally wonderful. She checked my cervix which had been just barely 1cm the week before. She had a slightly surprised look on her face and asked if I’d been tracking my contractions. Which I hadn’t because I mean I’d been having them for weeks and I was pretty settled into the idea of going until my induction date of the 29th. She thought it would be a really great idea if I went directly to labor and delivery to be monitored. I was 4cm on the outer edge and 2cm on the inside. With contractions pretty regular. I got over there around 1 and ended up admitted. They broke my water at 6:50, I can’t even tell you how long I pushed for. Honestly it was only 2-3 pushes and he was here all 6lbs 15oz and 20.5 inches. I can’t believe he’s here already and that I have a little boy finally after three girls. He’s perfect!

IMG_9067.JPG

